Logo Platform

PvP class restriction and ability use

Game optionsGame modes

9 hours ago
Sep 19, 2024, 1:56:07 PM

Ever since I started playing PvP in SM 2 (which is btw the majority of my 144h game-time as of yet) I noticed the desire of players wanting to play a certain class and not being able to, because of the restrictions.
I have seen this frustrating people, in some cases even so much that those people started trolling in lobbies.

However, I also noticed people getting frustrated by facing off 2 Bulwarks + 2 Heavy's in Capture Modes.. So I was therefore wondering if this is to be expected (like in other games with restrictions and class abilities such as Overwatch) or is it something that could and should be "fixed". I was thinking quite a lot about it and how such an issue could be "fixed", which let me to go over other games and see how they "fixed" this.

I noticed that most games fall in one of two categories:

Category 1:
they have no "special abilities" that would/could be game breaking and therefore doesn't require a restriction on players per class, but the amount of different classes tends to be lower.

Category 2: 

They have "special abilities" and the restriction on classes to ONE player per class (such as Overwatch), but those games tend to have a lot more classes to choose from.

With those 2 categories in mind I kept looking at SM 2 and started to realize giving the game "mooooore" classes like in Overwatch is not possible - unless the customization for each class is being reduced (if not completely removed). Considering all the above I came to the conclusion that there are several options to engage these 2 issues.

Option 1: 
Remove the Abilities (except for assault - for obvious reasons) and therefore remove the restriction on players per class. Problem here is that most of the abilities define the class and upcoming classes such as an apothecary would also be defined by it.. resulting in future problems.